top of page

The Teaching of Water.

Basics of hydrological research

In the IWH laboratories we change the properties of water and replace toxic chemicals with efficient hydrological alternatives.

SCIENCE CAN DO THIS

Humans are made up of 71% water. Have you ever thought about how this can work?

Water is  die chemical compound H2O, consisting of the elements oxygen (O) and hydrogen (H). It's the only one natural Fabric used in solid, liquid and gaseous state  occurs.Its parameters, such as density, surface tension, conductivity, etc., can be adjusted in the laboratory as required.

 

For example, to create a natural skin disinfectant, we adjust the parameters of the water to render harmful bacteria, fungi and viruses harmless, but without damaging the skin's natural barrier. The result: a disinfectant made from pure water that does not dry out the skin. 

THE PRINCIPLE

We shape water.

Think of the architecture of the water as a building made of nothing but small building blocks. With the help of a bioreactor, we can adapt these building blocks to our needs. The available parameters are the physical, chemical, electrical and optical properties of the raw material water.

 

And as with any building, the building materials are manufactured according to need. In the case of water, for example, the pH value, redox value, conductivity, surface tension, etc. are increased or decreased. Depending on the blueprint, this gives it new properties that can be used in different areas.

As functional as necessary. As natural as possible.

In most cases, the impetus for the development of our products comes directly from the user. From farmers who no longer want to use pesticides, by hospitals looking for an effective alternative to disinfectants, or by private users who no longer want to dump toxic chemicals into their pool. And it is not uncommon for the answer to one problem to solve three more. We communicate with all users across all industries and thus find solutions "out of the box".

Think one step further.

We live in a cycle that does not end with the finished product, but begins with the reintegration of used resources. Water has always used this energy to keep the ecosystem running: liquid evaporates, becomes liquid again, becomes rain. But it's always water. And yet we use vapor very differently than liquid.

So easy.So effective.

In the redox reaction, the oxidation states of the atoms change through electrotransfer.

THE REDOX POTENTIAL

In the redox reaction, two partners react with each other. In the course of this, one partner is reduced and the other oxidized. While in acid-base reactions, H+ ions (protons) change from one partner to the other, in redox reactions electrons change partners. The partner that accepts electrons (oxidizing agent) is reduced, the other (reducing agent) is oxidized. Thus, the redox reaction can be divided into two half-reactions (redox pairs). In one reaction there is oxidation with the oxidation potential as the driving force, in the other there is reduction. The redox potential of both partners results from the sum of oxidation potential and redux potential. The "easier" one partner is oxidized and the "easier" the other partner is reduced, the higher the value of the common redox potential.

The reducing power of an individual substance (element, cation, anion) is described by its redox potential: This variable is a measure of the willingness to give up electrons and thus convert to the oxidized form. The measured variable is the reduction/oxidation standard potential of a substance, measured under standard conditions against a standard reference hydrogen half cell. 

 

In biochemical systems, the standard redox potential is defined at pH 7.0 against a Standard hydrogen electrode  and for a partial pressure von hydrogen von 1 bar.

REDOX POTENTIAL AND HOMEOSTASIS

A fundamental functional principle of all living organisms is self-regulation, known as homeostasis. The principle of homeostasis states that an organism only survives if the physical, chemical and electrochemical parameters in its internal milieu are within a certain range and remain constant. The following applies: the closer the absorbed substances and their corresponding values come to the values of the inner milieu, the lower the energy expenditure that the organism has to expend for this adaptation. The human body also adapts everything it absorbs to its internal parameters.

 

The redox potential of human blood, calculated according to the Nernst equation taking the pH value into account, results in the following values:

  • Arterial blood - about minus 57 mV

  • Venous blood - about minus 7 mV

The redox values of most  foods and tap water are far above the body's own values. This means that many foods steal electrons from the body. The biological structures in the body (cell membranes, organelles, nucleic acids, etc.) are oxidized and subsequently damaged. 

Bacteria, fungi and viruses cannot withstand a redox voltage of 350 mV and die off. 

No wonder: science.

The scientists at the IWH have succeeded in producing a stable hydrological concentrate which, at a ratio of 1:500, converts even the most contaminated water into clean drinking water. According to the WHO, by 2025 two billion people will be living in regions with absolute water shortages.

So there is a lot to do - and together we can make the difference.

Gorgeous African Black Girl Drinking with Hands Cupped (Drought Symbol)__Young African gir

Acids

Acids are chemical compounds that are able to transfer one or more of their bonded H atoms as a proton (H) to a reaction partner, which must provide a free pair of electrons for each proton to be bonded. One then speaks of proton transfer reactions. Accordingly, the molecules that can bind protons are also referred to as proton acceptors.

 

It remains to be considered that H atoms bound to different atoms can also be released as protons with different ease. In general, one speaks of more or less strongly acidic protons or compounds. In purely aqueous solutions, the only reaction partner that can absorb the protons is water, the solvent. Oxonium ions, also known as hydronium ions (H30*), are then formed and the pH value of the solution falls. Acids react with so-called bases to form water and salts. A base is the opposite of an acid and can neutralize the acid.
 

Bases

In chemistry , bases are compounds that are able to form hydroxide ions (OH) in aqueous solution and thus increase the pH value of a solution. Hydroxide ions are chemical compounds that can accept protons from an acid to form a water molecule.

 

In addition, there are other definitions of the term bases of different acid-base concepts for a much broader range of chemical reactions that can extend beyond those of hydroxide ions in water. The concepts according to Lewis (Lewis base and Lewis acid) and those according to Pearson, who speaks of hard and soft acids and bases (HSAB concept), are particularly important.

Smiling woman
“The answer has always been right before our eyes. But we have to start developing solutions from it."

The pH

pH is the inverse of the common logarithm (log to 10) of hydrogen ion activity. The higher the concentration of hydrogen ions in the solution, the lower the pH.

Derived from the equilibrium constant for the autoprotolysis of water, a dilute, aqueous solution with a pH value of less than 7 is called acidic, with a pH value equal to 7 neutral and with a pH value greater than 7 basic or alkaline.

The importance of pH using the example of human health.

The pH value plays an important role in countless vital metabolic processes. In humans, the tolerable pH of blood and cell fluid is limited to narrow ranges. So lie z. B. Normal arterial blood pH values in the range of 7.35-7.45. The prevailing pH value is set by the so-called blood buffer, a complex buffer system formed by the carbon dioxide dissolved in the blood, the anions of dissolved salts and the dissolved proteins. The pH value has a significant influence on the sugar metabolism (glycolysis), muscle activity and the spread of excitation in the heart, the vascular resistance and the oxygen binding of the blood by hemoglobin.
 

 

“Sometimes one almost believes that mankind has tried to follow the most complicated path for the last two hundred years. We just have to follow the example of nature."
Petrischalen
bottom of page

top of page

Die Lehre vom Wasser

Grundlagen der hydrologischen Forschung

In den Laboren des IWH nutzen wir die Eigenschaften von Wasser und ersetzen toxische Produkte durch gleichwertige hydrologische Alternativen.

DAS KANN WISSENSCHAFT

Der Mensch besteht zu 71% aus dem flexibelsten Baustein des Lebens: Wasser.

Wasser ist der einzig natürliche Stoff, der im festen, flüssigen und gasförmigen Zustand vorkommt. Seine Parameter, beispielsweise Dichte, Leitfähigkeit, Oberflächenspannung etc. lassen sich im Labor anpassen.

 

Um beispielsweise ein natürliches, gesundes  Desinfektionsmittel für die Haut herzustellen, erhöht man die Redoxspannung, sodass schädliche Bakterien, Pilze und Viren zuverlässig eliminiert werden. Gleichzeitig passt man den pH-Wert so an, dass die natürliche Hautbarriere geschützt wird. Das Ergebnis ist Desinfektionsmittel aus reinem Wasser das die Haut nicht austrocknet und auch für besonders sensible Haut bestens geeignet ist.

DAS PRINZIP

Wir gestalten Wasser.

Stellen Sie sich die Architektur des Wassers wie ein Gebäude aus lauter kleinen Bausteinen vor. Mithilfe eines Bioreaktors können wir diese Bausteine unserem Bedarf entsprechend anpassen. Die verfügbaren Parameter sind die physikalischen, chemischen, elektrischen und optischen Eigenschaften des Rohstoffes Wasser.

 

Wie für jedes Gebäude werden die Baustoffe dem Bedarf entsprechend hergestellt. Im Fall des Wassers werden der ph-Wert, der Redoxwert die Leitfähigkeit, die Oberflächenspannung etc. erhöht oder gesenkt. Dadurch erhält Wasser je nach "Bauplan" neue Eigenschaften, die auf verschiedenen Gebieten genutzt werden können.

So funktionell wie nötig. So natürlich wie möglich.

Der Anstoß für die Entwicklung unserer Produkte kommt in den meisten Fällen direkt vom Anwender. Von Landwirten, die keine Pestizide mehr verwenden wollen, oder von Krankenhäusern, die nach einer wirkungsvollen Alternative für Desinfektionsmittel suchen.

 

Nicht selten löst die Antwort auf ein Problem auch noch drei weitere.

Einen Schritt weiter denken.

Wir leben in einem Kreislauf, der nicht mit dem fertigen Produkt endet, sondern mit der Wiedereingliederung von gebrauchten Ressourcen beginnt. Wasser nutzt diese Energie seit jeher: Flüssiges verdampft, wird wieder flüssig, wird Regen. Aber immer bleibt es Wasser. Und doch nutzen wir Dampf ganz anders als Flüssigkeit.

So einfach. So effektiv.

Wasser mit einer Redoxspannung von 1000mV hat eine zehnfach stärkere Wirkung als Chloroxid.

DAS REDOXPOTENTIAL

Bei der Redoxreaktion reagieren zwei Partner miteinander. Im Verlauf wir der eine Partner reduziert, der andere oxidiert. Während bei Säure-Base-Reaktionen, H+ Ionen (Protonen) von einem Partner zum anderen wechseln, wechseln bei Redox-Reaktionen Elektronen den Partner. Der Partner, welcher Elektronen aufnimmt (Oxidationsmittel), wird reduziert, der andere (Reduktionsmittel) wird oxidiert. Somit kann die Redoxreaktion in zwei Halbreaktionen (Redox-Paare) aufgeteilt werden. In einer Reaktion wird oxidiert - mit dem Oxidationspotential als Triebkraft, in der anderen wird reduziert. Das Redoxpotential der beiden Partner ergibt sich aus der Summe von Oxidationspotential und Reduxpotential. Je "leichter" ein Partner oxidiert wird und je "leichter" der andere Parnter reduziert wird, desto höher ist der Wert des gemeinsamen Redoxpotentials.

Die Reduktionskraft einer einzelnen Substanz (Element, Kation, Anion) wird durch ihr Redoxpotential beschrieben: Diese Größe ist ein Maß für die Bereitschaft, Elektronen abzugeben und damit in die oxidierte Form überzugehen. Bei der Messgröße handelt es sich um das Reduktions-/Oxidations-Standartpotential eines Stoffes, gemessen unter Standartbedingungen gegen eine Standart- Referenz- Wasserstoffhalbzelle. 

 

In biochemischen Systemen ist das Standardredoxpotential definiert beim pH 7,0 gegen eine Standard-Wasserstoffelektrode und bei einem Partialdruck von Wasserstoff von 1 bar.

REDOXPOTENTIALS UND HOMÖOSTASE

Ein grundlegendes Funktionsprinzip aller lebenden Organismen ist die Selbstregulation, die als Homöostase bezeichnet wird. Das Prinzip der Homöostase besagt, dass ein  Organismus nur dann überlebt, wenn die physikalischen, chemi­schen und elektrochemischen Parameter in seinem inneren Milieu in einem bestimmten Bereich liegen und konstant bleiben. Je näher die aufgenommenen Substanzen mit ihren entsprechenden Werten an die Werte des inneren Milieus kom­men, desto geringer ist der Aufwand an Energie, den der Organismus für diese Anpassung aufwenden muss. Auch der menschliche Körper passt alles, was er aufnimmt, an seine inneren Pa­rameter an.

 

Die Redox-Werte der meisten  Lebensmittel sowie des Leitungswassers liegen dabei weit über den körpereigenen Werten. Das bedeutet, dass viele Lebensmittel dem Körper Elektronen entziehen. Dabei werden die biologischen Strukturen im Körper (Zellmembrane, Organellen, Nukleinsäuren etc.) oxidiert und in der Folge geschädigt. Dieses Prinzip gilt auch für alle anderen lebenden Organismen.

Bakterien, Pilze und Viren können einer Redoxspannung von > 350mV nicht standhalten.

Kein Wunder: Wissenschaft.

Den Wissenschaftlern des IWH ist es gelungen ein stabiles hydrologisches Konzentrat herzustellen das im Verhältnis 1:500 verkeimtes Wasser in sauberes Trinkwasser verwandelt. Laut WHO werden im Jahr 2025 zwei Milliarden Menschen in Regionen mit absolutem Wassermangel leben.

Es gibt also viel zu tun - und gemeinsam können den Unterschied machen.

Gorgeous African Black Girl Drinking with Hands Cupped (Drought Symbol)__Young African gir

Säuren

Säuren sind chemische Verbindungen, die in der Lage sind, ein oder auch mehrere ihrer gebundenen H-Atome als Proton (H) an einen Reaktionspartner zu übertragen, der für jedes zu bindende Proton ein freies Elektronenpaar zur Verfügung stellen muss. Man spricht dann von Protonenübertragungsreaktionen. Dementsprechend werden die Moleküle, die Protonen binden können, auch als Protonenakzeptoren bezeichnet.

 

Zu bedenken bleibt, dass an unterschiedliche Atome gebundene H-Atome auch unterschiedlich leicht als Protonen abgegeben werden können. Pauschal spricht man dann von mehr oder weniger stark sauren Protonen bzw. Verbindungen. In rein wässrigen Lösungen steht als Reaktionspartner nur das Lösungsmittel Wasser zur Verfügung. Es bilden sich dann Oxonium-lonen, die auch Hydroniumionen genannt werden (H30*), und der pH-Wert der Lösung sinkt. Säuren reagieren mit sogenannten Basen unter Bildung von Wasser und Salzen. Eine Base ist somit das Gegenstück zu einer Säure und vermag die Säure zu neutralisieren.
 

Basen 

Als Basen werden in der Chemie  Verbindungen bezeichnet, die in wässriger Lösung in der Lage sind, Hydroxidionen (OH) zu bilden und somit den pH-Wert einer Lösung zu erhöhen. Hydroxidionen sind chemische Verbindungen, die Protonen von einer Säure unter Bildung eines Wassermoleküls übernehmen können.

 

Daneben bestehen weitere Definitionen des Begriffs von Basen verschiedener Säure-Base-Konzepte für wesentlich breitere Paletten von chemischen Reaktionen, die über jene von Hydroxidionen in Wasser hinausreichen können. Besonders bedeutsam sind die Konzepte nach Lewis (Lewis-Base und Lewis-Säure) und das nach Pearson, der von harten und weichen Säuren und Basen spricht (HSAB-Konzept).

Smiling woman
“Alle Produkte und Patente die wir entwickeln, egal ob sie desinfizieren, ausgleichen, beleben oder neutralisieren haben eines gemeinsam: Sie kommen genau so in der Natur vor. "

Der pH-Wert

Der pH-Wert ist die Gegenzahl des dekadischen Logarithmus (Zehnerlogarithmus) der Wasserstoffionen-Aktivität. Je höher die Konzentration der Wasserstoffionen in der Lösung ist, desto niedriger ist auch der ph-Wert.

Abgeleitet von der Gleichgewichtskonstante für die Autoprotolyse des Wassers nennt man eine verdünnte, wässrige Lösung mit einem pH-Wert von weniger als 7 sauer, mit einem pH-Wert gleich 7 neutral und mit einem pH-Wert von größer 7 basisch beziehungsweise alkalisch.

Die Bedeutung des pH-Wertes am Beispiel der menschlichen Gesundheit.

Der ph-Wert spielt eine wichtige Rolle in unzähligen, lebensnotwendigen Stoffwechselprozessen. Beim Menschen ist der verträgliche pH-Wert von Blut und Zellflüssigkeit  auf enge Bereiche beschränkt. So liegen z. B. normale pH-Werte des arteriellen Blutes im Bereich von 7,35-7,45.  Der pH-Wert hat maßgeblichen Einfluss auf den Zuckerstoffwechsel (Glykolyse), die Muskeltätigkeit und die Erregungsausbreitung im Herzen, den Gefäßwiderstand und die Sauerstoffbindung des Blutes durch Hämoglobin.
 

 

“Manchmal glaubt man fast der Mensch hätte die letzten zweihundert Jahre versucht den kompliziertesten Weg zu gehen.
 
Dabei müssen wir nur dem Vorbild der Natur folgen."
Petrischalen
bottom of page